Rose Marie Martinez

Rose Marie Martinez, ScD has been the director of the Institute of Medicine’s (IOM) Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice at the National Academy of Science since 1999. The Board has a vibrant portfolio of studies that address high profile and cutting edge issues that affect the public’s health. The Board addresses the science base for public health interventions and examines the capacity of the health system, particularly the public health infrastructure, to support disease prevention and population health improvement including the education and supply of health professionals necessary for carrying them out. The Board has examined such topics as the safety of childhood vaccines and other drugs, pandemic influenza preparedness, tobacco control policies, the health effect of environmental exposures, the capacity of governmental public health to respond to health crises; systems for evaluating and ensuring drug safety post-marketing, clinical preventive services for women, chronic disease prevention, among others. Dr. Martinez was awarded the 2010 Institute of Medicine Research Cecil Award for significant contributions to IOM reports of exceptional quality and influence.

Prior to joining the IOM, Dr. Martinez was a senior health researcher at Mathematica Policy Research (1995-1999) where she conducted research on the impact of health system change on the public health infrastructure, access to care for vulnerable populations, managed care and the healthcare workforce.

Dr. Martinez is a former assistant director for health financing and policy with the US General Accounting Office where she directed evaluations and policy analysis in the area of national and public health issues (1988-1995). Her experience also includes six years directing research studies for the Regional Health Ministry of Madrid, Spain (1982-1988).

Dr. Martinez received the degree of Doctor of Science from the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health.

Dr. Martinez was appointed to the CEPH Board of Councilors by APHA in 2015. Her appointment continues through 2017.